People Not Resources

When I was younger I thought becoming a Manager would be great because I would have all these “resources” to guide, direct, even bend to my will. With this incredible power I could do things right and the world would be a better place.

Luckily I was never made a manager.

And in the mean time I have discovered that these resources are actually people and that people are not in the slightest bit like resources, they are incredibly complex, more like whole worlds. And I also discovered that people left on their own in an organisation don’t act like resources, they act in all sorts of bizarre and unpredictable ways.  And then I discovered that it’s the relationships between people that really matter. And when people develop these supportive relationships in an organisation it comes alive and they come alive and can do incredible things.

But most don’t because they are being treated as “Resources”.

And if I was a manager, all I could do is provide an environment where people feel free and safe to do that. And be open and honest and hope that they will want to connect with me. And I could become part of this organisation, that does incredible things, rather than sit here and feel afraid.

2 comments

  1. Short but nice post! So true people are complex resources… difficult and challenging to MANAGE!

  2. Yes. And thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 949 other followers

